Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain concerned parties today would argue that there is inherently less value in online friendships. In my opinion, despite the unique features possible when making friends online, in-person friendships are more meaningful due to the human element. Supporters of making friendships in the virtual world point out the diverse possibilities for communication. In the past, an individual had little choice other than to make friends within a generally narrow range. Today, the average social media user can contact individuals with more varied interests. For instance, people who are passionate about playing old board games can locate each other on a Facebook group or through an Instagram page and become friends as a result of a shared affinity. Using the internet, these people can stay in contact and sustain a potentially rewarding intellectual friendship. Nonetheless, it is only possible to have a truly meaningful friendship when meeting face to face. Research has shown that the body produces endorphins that elevate one’s mood through touch and in-person conversation. These are signs that there is tremendous value in real life friendships based around physical proximity. The benefits of such relationships extend to the ability to communicate with body language, eye contact, and physical contact. These features are the intrinsic value and meaning most assign to quality friendships and are completely lacking in superficial online friendships that ultimately do little more than a waste of one’s valuable time and energy In conclusion, although being online affords the average person a number of conveniences that can enhance a friendship, there is indeed far greater value in connecting with a person in real life. Few would dispute this claim even as many friendships become increasingly situated in online contexts