Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, university is an essential prerequisite for almost all high-paying jobs. Some students choose the university major that prepares them for those high-level careers. However, others think that it is better to follow your passion and apply to those university majors that are compliant with your interests, regardless of the future salaries. I strongly advocate this second approach, and its benefits will be covered in this essay. The more you choose what you like, the easier you will learn it. Sometimes people are tempted by well-known universities, such as the London School of Economics, because of the hefty salaries earned by the former students. However, choosing something that is not in your interest will let you down; as time goes by, you will become reluctant to do those studies, and you will regret your choice. For instance, I have a friend who chose to study economics and management, which is typically known as the best university major for earning high salaries. After the first year, he understood that he did not like what he was studying; therefore, he changed his major and ended up studying chemistry, his real passion. All the university majors can lead you to high-paying careers. If you choose what you love and put all your effort into it, it is possible to become one of the best in your field. Since you are an expert in your subject, companies will offer you prestigious jobs with hefty salaries. Therefore it is useless to choose the university from which students usually have higher salaries, such as management or finance, if it is not what you are keen on. In conclusion, although students can take into consideration those university majors that prepare for high-paying careers, it is also crucial that they consider their interests in the choice. In their future careers, it will be fundamental to work on something you like; the job will be easier, grateful, and stimulating.