Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

With the rise of the social-economic status of the majority and accessibility of food, citizens are consuming more and more manufactured goods that are generally high in sugar, posing danger to their health and causing critical health issues. Whether making such items more expensive to discourage their consumption or not has sparked a heated debate. Given the effectiveness and benefits to individuals and society at large, I accord with the suggestion and will illustrate the reasons behind it. With regard to the law of demand and supply, the goal of persuading the public to eat less sugar is very likely to be met if the price of the related products increases. A similar phenomenon can be seen in a Hong Kong policy where fewer plastic bags are used after the implementation of a charging scheme. In other words, imposing levies will lower the incentive of people getting manufactured products, and hence lower consumption of sugar. Therefore, I find no reason not to adopt the suggestion. Apart from its foreseeable effectiveness, a mandatory rise in price gives rise to a host of benefits to both individual and public health. It is undoubted that cutting sugar intake will alleviate one's health. Studies have been proving an array of improvements in body functions after participants have less sugar, such as fewer cases of diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular diseases reported. Moreover, better personal health will ease the burden on the local healthcare system, which is already in great tension. The government can, therefore, mobilize resources to improve the quality of services instead of struggling to satisfy people's needs. Consequently, it is essential to make manufactured food and drinks less affordable. Having discussed the effectiveness and positive influences, I utterly agree with the proposal in order to safeguard the health condition of each resident. It is especially true in many developed countries where diseases of affluence are common. In fact, both strong measures and education are required to solve the problems.