Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary world, different parenting styles have been introduced and the result of it can be easily seen in the children. A debate has been observed surfacing around where few people opine that the young generation should be motivated to take their own decision by themselves. However, others disagree as this might make them selfish. I personally agree with the former opinion. Protagonist to the this believes that, if given the liberty to make their own decisions, the wards will turn out to be more independent. For instance, if the child picks his clothes by himself then he will consider factors like colour coordination, outside weather and many more. Thus, making them more responsible. Moreover, the ability to make decisions is an essential skill in order to be a good leader, so free decision-making should definitely be encouraged. However, the antagonist opines that ward at such a tender age does not have the ability to make decisions for themselves. Their mind is not developed enough to see through what is beneficial for them and what is harmful, parent's interference is necessary to guide them. For instance, adolescents love to eat fast food like pizza and burgers which are low in nutritional value, consumption of only such food will create a barrier in their growth. To encapsulate, I reiterate that, it is needless to say that decision-making should be encouraged as it is crucial for their holistic development as this not only make them independent but will also turn them into conducive leaders of our society. But parents should definitely monitor their actions in order to make them conscious citizens.