One of the consequence of improved medical care is that people are living longer and living expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantaged of this development outweigh disadvantages?

As the world is continuously modernising, that also brings forth the advancement of medication and results in the longevity of human beings. Many suggest that it is having a negative impact while others say otherwise. The writer of this essay agrees with the former statement that a lengthened lifetime causes more harm than good. It must be recognised that the longer individuals live the more crowded Earth will be. Death is like a way nature provides living space and future opportunities for the next generations. As a result, longer life expectancy will lead to overpopulation which leads to other issues like insufficient resources, famine and epidemics because diseases can spread rapidly within a small amount of time and combined with overpopulation, it can start a global crisis. Additionally, having a long life is not beneficial but more like suffering as the body is designed to degrade away with time so the immune systems will also be less active. Accordingly, the elders will be vulnerable to fatal diseases and inevitably be a burden to their families as their medical bills will accumulate and have a negative impact on the well-being of their families. On the other hand, longevity provides a means of happiness through creating more memorable moments with their acquaintance and family members. The sensation when observing the growth and maturity of our children is quite satisfying and it is even more pleasing to accompany them on their journey. In addition, living a longer life will directly translate to acquiring more opportunities to pursue any dreams or goals. This is especially true for the former generations as in their period prior to us were poor and unable to engage in their dreams until the present. In conclusion, longevity does not necessarily translate to any detrimental effects but the benefits it provides still cannot outweigh the cons of it because it defies the law of nature and causes harm to both the world and ourselves.