Air transport is increasingly use to exported fruits and vegetables to countries where they can not be grown or out of seasons . What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is said that exporting fruits and vegetables to other states where they are difficult to farm or are not available due to weather changes has increased recently. This has several advantages in terms of the economy of the exporting country and to imported country, people can enjoy fruits and vegetables throughout the year. One of the prime advantages is the economical benefits that bring to the country which sends fruits and vegetables to other countries. This brings foreign currency to the state, thus leading to the development of the country. For instance, it is reported that China earned about 10% of the total income in 2020 by exporting apples. Another main plus point is, that people, can enjoy a variety of fruits and vegetables, throughout the year without depending on the weather or even not growing those foods in their region, as a result of air transportation. To exemplify, Sri Lankans can eat apples throughout the year, although apples are not grown in Sri Lanka. However, there are some detriments such as environmental problems, has increased due to air transportation of these foods. To be more specific, air pollution by emitting greenhouse gases by planes has increased and this has a major impact on Ozon layer depletion. Another drawback is the economical crisis in the food importing countries due to foreign currency wastage on unnecessary import of these foods. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the popularity of apples went up and apple trading leads to foreign currency wastage as well as is a reason for the economic crisis today. In conclusion, there is a trend of air transporting fruits and vegetables to other countries. On the one hand, this is an economical strength for exporting country and people can enjoy that food any time in other countries. On the flip side, this can cause some environmental problems and economic problems for importing countries.