The central government, the city government and individuals should all be responsible for protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the central and municipal government as well as individuals should all shoulder the responsibility of preserving the environment. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this view. To begin with, the central government should enact laws to promote environmental protection in the country level. For example, cars and cargos which emit large amount of exhausts should be banned nationwide. Therefore, the carbon dioxide and sulfar dioxide released from the veihchles will reduce tremendously. It is also the reponsibility of the central government to fund the construciton of clean power stations, including hydroelectric and geothermal power plants. Secondly, the city government can work closely with the central department on setting up regulations favouring environmental protection. For instance, the city administrator should encourage companies to sell eco-friendly products to the public. Tax refunds can be applied as a reward to corporations aiding in protecting the environment. On the other hand, individuals should also take the responsibility to save the environment. In other word, people can cut carbon consumption by travelling frequently with public transport. They can take the underground or ride bikes to work instead of driving private cars. Furthermore, residents can stop using disposable products, like plates, plastic bags and chopsticks. Rather than using disposable bags, they can take reusable cloth bags when shopping in the supermarket. As mankind has entered a throw-away society, a majority of people throw furnitures and housing appliances away every day. Instead of doing so, residents can donate old furnitures to the charity stores, so that the needy can buy them at a relatively low price and recycle the housewares. In conclusion, environmental protection is of vital importance so that joint efforts from the central government, city government and the public are required in this cause.