Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Freedom is a basic right of humans; however, allowing children to do whatever they want is always a matter of controversy as there is no particular rule or limit. This always leads to different viewpoints. This essay will discuss different avenues on the given topic to help us clearly understand these opinions. Most youngsters in Western countries are allowed to make choices on almost everyday matters such as food, clothes, or entertainment, which means they could show their characteristics to others. If their decision-making qualities are cultivated from an early age, they could develop independently. Some people think it might affect the development of personality. In other words, they would become egotistical and just think about themselves. This assertion is not completely related to decision-making at a young age, the children only care less about other individuals when they are influenced by the way that parents teach them how to love and respect other people. One widely held view is that it would be persuasive if children are allowed to make decisions about matters that affect them. For example, making their own choices on majors at school or becoming a person who they want to be in the future is totally dependent on them. Sometimes, adults should encourage youngsters to make decisions and let them experience difficulties with their own choices. In the end, they would realize what is the most suitable for them. They could not be mature without this stage. In conclusion, adults play a vital role in making-decision for children, especially parents. The adults just need to help them understand that they need to take the responsibility for what they decide at some point in their own life.