Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages to being self-employed? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

According to the current trends, many people have switched from working for an employer to being self-employed. This essay will amplify the reasons behind this trend and its disadvantages based on various instances. Nowadays, more and more people have begun quitting their well-paying and stable jobs to switch to working for themselves. There are different plausible explanations for why this is becoming increasingly common. Firstly, being self-employed provides a certain level of flexibility to one's routine. A self-employed person is not dependent on any business or company to make ends meet which gives them the freedom to choose their own timings, working environment and pace. Secondly, with the rising popularity of unconventional professions due to social media, more people are now quitting their traditional jobs in hopes of making it big on the internet by pursuing their hobbies. For example, many people have used Instagram to their benefit by sharing videos of recipes and their different food experiences and turned it into a lucrative business. Furthermore, in my experience, if pursued properly, being self-employed can be very rewarding in terms of money. However, despite its advantages, there are many disadvantages to being self-employed as well. Working for an organisation can seem mundane but it does provide a wider array of benefits. For instance, aside from salary, compensation for employees would include car benefits, retirement schemes and medical insurance. A self-employed person would have to take care of all this by themselves. Also, as a freelancer, one ends up working at odd hours to meet client deadlines, whereas hours are fixed when you are working for an employer. Additionally, stakes are higher when you are a free agent because you are the sole stakeholder in your business. In conclusion, while freelancing can seem pretty profitable and advantageous at first, it does have its own share of issues and people should be more cautious when making a switch from their regular jobs.