Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, criminal activities, such as fraud, harassment, violation, drug trafficking, human trafficking etc. escalating more. Some individuals opine that criminals should get fixed punishment for an offence. Whereas, others believe that penalty or discipline should depend on the events of the crime as well as the motivation behind it. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion. To begin, with the first view is deciding on punishment for each criminal incident. By doing this, the process of penalty will be faster and easier because officers do not have to find out incidents of crime. For example, In October 2020, the Bangladesh government approved the death penalty for each type of sexual violence by hanging rapists. Bangladesh's government believes that this is the easiest and fastest way of justice for victims. However, some members of society debated that culprit's punishment should depend on illegal situations and motivating factors of breaking the law. This is important because two criminal activities might be the same but the result is not similar. For example, I read the Toronto Times newspaper last week, it mentioned that one thief thrived the food at the restaurant because he was hungry and another one robbed the bank. Both criminal activities happened the same day, but the police gave more priority to the thief who robbed a bank and punished them with more penalties and 5 years of prison whereas the restaurant thief just got a fine of $1000. To conclude, I believe that criminals must get penalties depending on criminal activities and motivating factors and it should be not the same. Each criminal incidents depend on different kind of circumstances.