More and more people are leaving the countryside to live in the cities. Does this development have positive or negative effects on the environment?

In recent years, there has been a massive relocation from rural to urban areas. Although, individuals are shifting from the suburbs to colossal cities for a plethora of opportunities; the destruction of the environment is at its peak. The outcome of such an enormous movement has a detrimental impact on the habitat with multiple challenges which will be discussed further. There are myriad disadvantages of leaving the countryside and settling in a crowded centre. First and foremost, many individuals travel to cities for better lifestyle and job opportunities but somehow these factors result in deforestation and overcrowded spaces. If there is a huge migration of people to metropolitan cities, ultimately more space would be required for housing which would end up in cutting more trees for the construction of houses. For instance, in the past years, it has been observed that 70 per cent of villagers are moving to developed areas every year and it has become a challenge for the government as well as the environment. In addition, due to the departure of masses to the towns, the pollution level has tremendously increased. Furthermore, the vehicles on the roads have significantly alleviated, causing traffic jams and air pollution. It can be observed, for example in New Delhi, that the air quality has been observed the lowest in the last 2 months and its impact can be seen in the deformities in newborn babies To conclude, the cons outweigh the pros of resettling in cosmopolitan areas. Moreover, the harmful impact of such a settlement will be challenging for the surroundings by enhancing the pollution levels and also giving birth to new diseases.