In many parts of the world there are now more and more multi-generational households. eg where grandparents live with parents and children than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's contemporary era, there has been a surge in the number of households where families live together. It is predominantly because of the strong family bond that family members share these days and the lethargic attitudes of the youth who do not want to work hard and be self-sufficient. In my opinion, this development is both positive and negative and in the paragraphs to follow I shall put forth my point of view. To begin with, the first reason for an increasing number of multi-generational houses is healthy family relationships. Nowadays, more families have realised the importance of living together which offers social support to elders and creates solid learning foundations for the juveniles. Moreover, this trend is very common in countries like India and China, where joint families have numerous members living under the same roof. Therefore, it is a positive development as the children grow up in the safe hands of their own family, and the seniors of the family remain busy and entertained too. For instance, my childhood was very productive as my grandparents looked after me and taught me many lessons in life when my parents were occupied with full-time jobs. Secondly, juveniles these days have become very unproductive and lazy, thus they remain in their parent's house as they do not want to put in some effort and become independent. As a result, they do not have enough financial aid to support themselves; thus keep residing in their family homes. It is a negative development because being autonomous is essential in life and prepares an individual for the future obstacles he may come across. For example, my friend always remained under the shadow of his family and loves a sedentary lifestyle; hence, he has not achieved anything in his yet. To sum up, although living together in a combined family brings many benefits, it has some disadvantages too. Nonetheless, society members should make wise decisions in order to lead a happy life.