People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is true that nowadays, the consumption of sugary drinks is dramatically increasing. In my opinion, this is derived from the easy access and popularity of fast food, and I think this phenomenon can be tackled with proper measures such as governments’ regulations and campaigns. To begin with, ever-increasing sales of beverages containing sugar can be explained by two primary factors. First, people can readily buy soft drinks at convenience stores, supermarkets, and even offices and schools where vending machines are installed. That is, this implies that they prefer to buy a can of Coke instead of carrying water with them in order to be hydrated. Second, busy modern people consume soft drinks with their meals in fast food outlets. Due to their hectic schedules and various commitments, they value time rather than healthier and more nutritious meals. Nevertheless, this issue can be addressed by a government’s policy and public service advertising that shows the impact on the body when blood sugar level is too high. First and foremost, the government can enact regulations that can deter citizens from consuming unhealthy beverages such as Coke, Fanta, and Sprite. For example, they can impose penalties on companies which make soft drinks surpassing specific levels of sugar concentration which cause serious diseases including diabetes and obesity. Besides, the government can initiate campaigns to educate the public on the detrimental effect on health which can be caused by an excessive amount of sugar. Considering the general public are not aware of or do not pay attention to possible dangers of consuming sugary carbonated drinks, this is one of the most effective ways to change their attitude. In conclusion, although it is noticeable that many people enjoy drinks containing sugar due to convenience to buy and busy lifestyles, I would argue that this can be dealt with well by regulating food companies and promoting expected health issues that they can cause.