Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both the sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that including art as a subject in the curriculum, fosters the overall development of children, while others think it is not worth the time. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. My inclination is elaborated further in the ensuing paragraphs. On one side of the argument, there is a community that argues adding skill-based subjects will help develop skills like motor ability, hand and eye coordination, creativity and many more. Moreover, engaging sophomores in crafts will enhance their learning ability, which brings a sense of achievement on completion of tasks, adding the psychological development. It also helps pupils to learn about the culture and built belongingness towards the nation. Hence, further building responsible citizens of the country. Thus, if these skills are not taught at school, they may hinder the overall development of children. On the other side of the argument, society believes it to be a waste of time. They think children have other major subjects to study like mathematics, science and others, with which they are already burdened. Adding a course in painting, dancing, and crafting to the syllabus, adds another burden to them. Besides, they have a firm belief that if students utilize their hours after studying important subjects like mathematics and science, will result in a more successful career and profession like engineering, law, architecture and medicine to add. In conclusion, both arguments have their own merits and demerits. Although in my opinion, it is my firm belief that the time spent on arts and crafts will eventually encourage successful and responsible proponents of the nation.