Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses. Nevertheless, they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities; the latter is regarded as a “taboo” subject sometimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that psychological illnesses are not easy to be recognized as physical problems, and society tends to sympathize with people suffering from physical rather than mental illnesses or disabilities, moreover, mental disorders are sometimes regarded as a “taboo” subject. Although I accept the former opinion, I believe the latter is untrue. Admittedly, it is not easy to realize someone with a mental disease. The reason is that the symptoms of those problems stem from the brains of patients, and those contracting psychological illnesses have few visible changes until they are in a dangerous stage. In addition, due to the lack of science and health knowledge, people are not fully aware of all the serious consequences that someone with mental disorders has to endure. For instance, in some families in my country, if the daughter or son has mental illnesses, their parents will tend to ignore them and consider their children’s problems as trivial signs and do not need to be treated. On the other hand, in modern society, psychological illnesses or disabilities are no longer regarded as a “taboo” subject as in the past. The reason is that nowadays, more and more people seem to identify with patients having mental disorders, owing to their better awareness and educational background. For example, in today's world, there are various social organizations and educational programs founded to prevent psychological illnesses for everyone, as well as bring help to those struggling with these diseases or problems. In conclusion, it is a fact that there is a difference in attitudes of the public towards those with psychological illnesses or disabilities. However, I absolutely believe that we all have a better awareness now, and are willing to bring more aid to everyone with mental problems.