Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary life, many with an illness opt to use alternative medicines and treatments instead of seeing a healthcare professional. In my opinion, doing this is detrimental to one's health, and is a negative development. To begin with, alternative medicines might not be approved by a healthcare professional, so as a consequence, they can pose serious threats to their patient's well-being. There are many medicines available on the market that claims to be able to cure many diseases, and while they might seem to be very effective, they can be detrimental to one's health. For example, the medicine may have underlying effects that the patients are unaware of, and those effects might only reveal themselves after a long period of treatment. As a result, guidance from a doctor is necessary. Another reason is that while these medicines might cure the symptoms, they may not cure the underlying disease. To elaborate, without seeing a healthcare professional, many diseases can lay undetected for years because their early signs are missed. Then, when diagnosed, they may have become much more severe, and in many cases, fatal. A doctor with years of experience, however, can detect the illness even when the symptoms are still relatively mild, and this would significantly increase the effectiveness of treatment. Therefore, it is essential that patients visit a healthcare expert so that such diseases could be prevented, or cured at an early stage. In conclusion, I believe that taking alternative medicines and treatments poses a serious problem to people's well-being, and should be avoided. Thus, people with health problems should always see a healthcare expert, instead of trying to cure the disease on their own.