Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The increasing use of plastic has caused an adverse effect on the environment. This essay will discuss the environmental problems associated with excessive plastic usage and the measures the governments and the people can take to remediate the issue. In our daily lives, plastic is in every form and nearly all the commodities we use come in a plastic packaging. Be it bread, vegetables and fruits, dairy or even hygiene products, plastic is the common denominator everywhere. Because it has been used exhaustively, it is taking a toll on nature and deteriorating it in all possible ways. Firstly, since it is non-biodegradable, it doesn't decompose. So unlike other biodegradable garbage, which can rot and serve as manure, plastic lasts forever without contributing anything to the environment. Secondly, many animals fall prey to consuming plastic mistaking it for food. For instance, it is a frequent occurence in India for cows to choke while eating because of plastic. Furthermore, this is known to even happen to animals in the ocean. Over the past few decades, governments all across the world have begun taking the plastic problem seriously and many measures have been put in place to control plastic use. In many major cities, vendors cannot sell their products in plastic bags and have to use paper bags instead. For example, in many Indian cities like Chandigarh, the use of plastic packaging has been completely banned. In other places, a new and thinner version of plastic is in use that is biodegradable and much more environment friendly. Many supermarkets also encourage their customers to bring their own cloth bags for carrying their groceries. In many restaurants, plastic utensils have been switched out for glass or steel cutlery. Adequate campaigning has been done among the youth to promote the reuse and recycling of plastic products, as a result of which, youngsters today are more aware of the drastic consequences of its extensive use. In conclusion, although there is still a long way for us to go, considerable efforts have been taken by the governments and the communities to curb plastic utilization and switch to better and more environment-friendly alternatives.