Some people believe that plastic shopping bags damage the environment and their use should be prohibited. Other people insist that consumers should have the right to choose whether they want to use a plastic bag or not. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today's contemporary era, society members often debate about the use of plastic bags and their impact on our environment. Some believe they should be banned as they deplete the environment, while others think that shoppers should be allowed to decide. In my opinion, plastic bags should be prohibited and replaced by more bio-degradable materials like jute or cloth bags. To begin with, plastic is a non-biodegradable substance that has deteriorated our environment. Unlike other materials, we can not throw them in landfills and get rid of them. So to get rid of them many society members burn them which further adds to the air pollution. Moreover, plastic bags have become a necessity when it comes to shopping. Many consumers use multiple plastic bags when they shop in bulk and later throw them in bins; thus, adding to piles of plastic in the garbage tips. For instance, excess use of plastic bags in India while shopping is the sole reason for over-flowing household rubbish bins. In contrast, some people argue that customers should decide whether to use plastic bags or not. This will only lead to a myriad of concerns as many people are reckless and do not care about their surrounding environment. If members of the society keep sustainability in their mind they might start thinking about the interest of the future generation and make a judicious decision of either replacing plastic bags with other alternatives or reusing plastic bags to minimise their impact. For example, since plastic bags are not complementary in shopping centres anymore, many Australians reuse the old bags they have at home. In conclusion, having put forth substantial arguments, the use of plastic bags should be discontinued as it harms the natural environment. It should be replaced with bags made of eco-friendly material that can also be reused several times.