Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Today, the food in our tables comes from all over the world, thanks to developments in the international transportation systems. Although, accessing variety of products creates convenience to the consumers, this thesis believes that this movement is extremely harmfull to our environment. Today, our market shelves are filled with international products. People can easily access to the ingredients even if it is not possible to grow that type of plants in their region. Moreover, they can find variety of quality and price, depending on the origin of the food. For example, although it is not possible to farm in UAE due to climate, you can easily buy the freshly grown vegetables in any time of year. Even though this provides many oppurtunuties, I believe transporting goods globally has more harm than good. Because, current global logistic systems still uses fossil fuels like gas, oil for ships and planes, which are the biggest enemies of our planet in terms of sustainability. First of all, all this resources are finite and importing goods from across the country creates huge amount of consumption. Secondly, the vehicles creates gas emissions and pollute the air. Researches found that food industry uses 17 more fuel than commercial avition. With given samples, for a sustainable word we can not contunie using the current food sytems. In conclusion, although modern technology make it convenient of accessing food globally, it effect on the planet can not be unseen. That's why I strongly suggest that world needs more sustainable food system in future.