Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many today argue that the government is accountable for the increase in the problem of overweight children. However, I do not agree with this opinion as I believe that over consumption of food and less physical activity can cause obesity. Over consumption of meals especially unhealthy food plays a vital role in the weight control and not mainly the responsibility of the government but of the parents or the caregivers. Children that consumes large meals, snacks, and junk foods more than the recommended caloric intake for their age will mostly become obese children. For instance, those children that were provided by their caregivers more fast- food meals, chips, chocolates and candies, and sodas rather than vegetables and fruits will more likely be heavier than the supposed to be normal weight. Thus, the quality and the amount of food intake is accountable for the rise in obesity in children. Moreover, less to no physical activity can also aggravate obesity in children. Nowadays, with the modernization of technology and easy access to hand held devices, kids chose to sit and play on their gadgets rather than do the actual playing. We are seeing less children on the playground and more on their rooms in front of their computers or tablets. For example, kids would play with characters on their game, on the screen online rather than play with their friends an actual game. Because of this, kids do not do any physical exercises that could burn their calories leading to obesity as well. In conclusion, I assume that the lifestyle of the children plays a vital role in their weight management that can be influence by the caregiver rather than the government. Food intake and physical activity are two main aspects that needs to be controlled to maintain a healthy weight.