There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

Yearly many people go to jail because of involving in criminal activities, and some of them will get a hefty punishment such as death but some people think slaughtering prisoners like this is not the best idea while other factors can work on them. I think for some crimes like rape, the death sentence is needed and I will talk more about it in this essay. On the one hand, the death penalty was always used for abysmal crimes which are not acceptable for that community and they do not want to see those people another time walking on the Earth. Thus, judges and police before accepting the death sentence for that person should investigate perfectly to make sure about what he or she did. In my opinion, for some crimes such as gunshots, rape and terror, harsh punishments are essential to make sure these actions will not happen again. For example, if someone kills another person, who can guarantee this guy is a good person right now and he is not going to do that again. On the other hand, some people believe prisons and government should provide other actions and behaviour against these types of criminals. However, a life sentence can be one of those punishments instead of death, which a prisoner will spend his whole life in lock. In my opinion, psychologists can be helpful for the government in these situations, because they can check those life sentence prisoners and if they changed, judges can survey the prisoner's crimes another time to see if it is possible to reduce their sentence. For example, lots of people in prison are sorrowful about what they did or they did not want to do that and it was all about an accident. In conclusion, the death sentence should be always the last option for judges because people can change or maybe the police did not do a complete and right investigation of this case. After thoroughly analyzing this subject, I predict life sentences will increase because prisons will get full one day and they can not keep everyone there.