Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people feel that decreasing the income gap between the wealthy and the needy is key to a joyful community. I disagree with this statement and believe that there are multiple reasons that lead to socio-economic disparity and that the government should come up with effective policies to improve the happiness of societies. On the one hand, countries and economies grow because of the increasing incomes of affluent humans. A drop in the earnings of these wealthy individuals can cause economic shifts in the country and can also affect the employment opportunities of poor people. Additionally, these individuals are also the highest taxpayers in the country compared to lower middle-class folks, who in most cases do not even qualify to pay taxes, which would lead to a massive drop in the tax collection of the nation. On the other hand, the happiness of a society is not only dependent on monetary aspects. To illustrate, research conducted by United Nations, explains that money is the least contributing factor to creating a happy society and that happiness is more dependent on other aspects such as mental health, education, sense of achievement in the workplace and personal relationships. Moreover, the government should come up with initiatives to educate folk in need and create plans to develop them with relevant industrial skills, thus helping them get white collared jobs. However, the country can increase the tax percentage for high-earning individuals and use the money to provide educational scholarships. To conclude, closing in on the income gap between the wealthy and poor will not solve the issue. Societies need to be educated and made employable to close this gap. As once they have sufficient funds to provide for themselves and their family, they will automatically develop a sense of joy as a community.