Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many researchers find that the majority of criminals still recommit crimes even though they have been sent to prison after they are released. This problem is caused by several reasons. This essay will identify why this phenomenon happens and provide some possible solutions to tackle this issue. To begin with, criminals recommit crimes for several reasons. The main cause is the core problem of criminals breaking laws has not been solved yet. For example, when people commit a burglary to meet their daily necessity, they may still do it again if they still live under poverty. Another cause of ex-prisoner committing crimes is that prisons cannot give a deterrent effect. As a result, people might think that they will be fine even if they have to be sent again to prison after committing crimes. Although people may still commit crimes after they are arrested, there are several possible actions to take to prevent people from doing these. The first measure to take is by educating them in prison. When they know how criminal actions may break their life and their families, they may not want to redo it. After the first measure has been done, local forces have to monitor the ex-prisoners to make sure that they will not break laws again. The surveillance can be done by giving the criminals a bracelet or necklace to give information about their activities and locations. By doing these, people are unlikely to recommit crimes. To sum up, the reasons for people recommitting crimes after they are sent to prison may be caused by their condition or the failure of laws in making deterrent effects. However, this phenomenon can be prevented by solving the main reasons for people doing crimes and monitor their activities.