In most countries, prison is the most common solution when people commit a crime. However, if they were to receive better education, it could prevent them from becoming criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to prevent crime is one of the major concern topics in modern society. While putting criminals into prisons works to a certain degree, my view is that education is a more helpful way to reduce the number of criminals. It is clear that individuals who have received education have better financial conditions. This is because they are more likely to find a good pay job so that being able to afford their living expense. So, the possibility of breaking the law to make money will decline significantly. Moreover, education can change the environment of individuals by providing them with the same level of friends. For example, if you attend university, you would find that the people surrounding you are all well educated. Having educated friends instead of ones who are involved in gambling and drugs is important to decline the chance to commit offences. Nevertheless, those who harbour the view that criminals should be put into prison believe that only this way can warn the public since no one wants to lose freedom. The criminals, of course, should be isolated from citizens in order to prevent them hurt the public again. But education is a more effective way to prevent crimes since monitoring the criminals needs a lot of money. In conclusion, as far as finance, environment and effectiveness are concerned, I strongly hold that instruction play a key part in reducing the crime rate. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the important role laws are undertaking. Only by doing so can society become more peaceful and safe.