These days people are using the Internet for shopping, work and to communicate with others without the need for face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

The usage of the internet has been omnipresent nowadays, ranging from its function to trading goods to arranging meetings with others virtually. Despite the surging trend of internet utilisation, there are both positive and negative effects emerged. In regard to this, the benefits of the internet are considered to outpace its drawbacks, and this essay will explain the reasons behind this argument. When it comes to the positive and negative impacts, any kind of digital innovation, including the internet may own both of them. Nevertheless, the empirical evidence tends to show that the internet has successfully spread more good values to society in terms of the betterment of people's quality of life. For instance, due to the emergence of the internet, the gap in the economy in Kenya has been reduced significantly by harnessing the internet economy mechanism. Not to mention, other emerging economies across the globe have also experienced the benefits of using the internet, particularly in spurring their industrialisation to spike economic growth. For example, countries in Southeast Asia have been able to increase their production by harnessing the advanced Internet of Things technology. While the aforementioned examples have proven that the usage of the internet has critically helped to raise the quality of well-being in society, several drawbacks cannot be overlooked. One of the main culprits is the threatening cybercrimes that are faced by governments across the globe. However, when it comes to the question of which impacts more influence society, the positive impacts of the internet are inclined to prevail because most governments have commenced securing their cyberspace by developing cyber security policies. In addition, the number of cyber victims is less compared to the number of people who have significantly improved their well-being quality by harnessing the internet on a daily basis. In conclusion, the usage of the internet has increased exponentially in recent years due to its ability to support human activities from shopping to engage relations with others. In addition, the rise of internet users globally has begotten both positive and negative impacts, yet it seems to be admitted that the internet tends to be more beneficial rather than harmful for society.