Countries should produce the food that their population eats and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to you answers

While some people believe that the farming and manufacturing sectors demand high physical labor and time, they argue that increasing the proportion of food imports is more reasonable. I think that we should not rely on other countries for food markets, as this field is critical to residents’ lives. Countries must be independent from others to ensure safety. To begin with, it is clear that imported foods are often less fresh and may even be below edible conditions. This is due to not only traveling long distances but also the processing required to meet export conditions, which includes freezing and disinfection. For example, meat exported mostly from Australia must be frozen before being sent to other countries. Moreover, Australia is somewhat of an island, which means it is imported by shipment and takes at least around 6 hours to cross the ocean. This may impact the quality of the products. Additionally, agriculture and food manufacturing are long-term projects. Once countries start depending on others in certain fields, they tend to ignore or reduce their foundation in these industries. However, this can sometimes lead to serious situations, allowing exporting countries to gain priority. Consequently, these countries may pressure importing countries to accept other industries to extend their food -related relationships. In conclusion, even though the regulations regarding food imports are controversial, I personally believe that food imports must be reduced. Once countries rely on others for food, which is crucial to citizens’ lives, it will be complicated to overcome these dependencies. Furthermore, in the end, they might also rely on other fields to continue importing food.