The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that many of the traditional ideas of the elderly no longer align with the needs of the younger generation. While I agree some conventional ideas are obsolete, I also believe others are still useful for people nowadays. Undeniably, some of the traditional ideas with rigid and inflexible values do not meet the needs of modern people, many have eroded as time goes by. For example, in the past, people believed one should focus only on their career in order to have a secure life; however, an increasing number of people nowadays become more emphasised work-life balance and are more willing to try different careers. Another evident example is marriage, the old idea reckon that marriage should be arranged by parents or there will be no agreement, whereas people in modern days tend to make their own decisions and have different considerations from the past. However, there are some viewpoints that are still applicable in modern society. \ For example, the older generations often attach great importance to working hard, doing one's best and taking pride in their own. These deeds can truly facilitate young people to value themself more and stay positive in their workplace. Another precious characteristic that is passed down from the old time is politeness, these good manners can be helpful for people in modern days, especially when residing in a highly globalized world where people nowadays need to interact and face different individuals on a daily basis, the basic mind of mutual respect and gratitude has become increasingly important. In conclusion, though part of the perspectives from the old generations seems to be inapplicable for the young nowadays, people should not abscise all the traditional ideas as some of the values can still be conducive for the people in modern society.