Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been an inclusive debate about whether some scientific research, business and academic information should be shared to the public or not. The supporters claim that it is beneficial to share data freely, while the critics argue that sharing too much data can bring detrimental impacts to the society. In my humble opinion, I believe that sharing information is considered as a double-edged sword as explained with examples follows: To begin with, sharing data helps the receivers regardless of their background to access and broaden their academic knowledge. Moreover, free information can enhance aspects of life such as building awareness of medicine or technology. For instance, by 2020, Covid-19 had spread all over the world. The information about Covid-19 was published both online and offline which educated readers to understand and know how to protect themselves in proper ways. On the other hand, Some academic data is too critical to be exposed to the public. Some readers might use that data in an inappropriate way such as stealing someone's data and developing that asset as it is their own. Nowadays there are lots of cases about China stealing other countries' technology or intellectual property. It was duplicated and enhanced from the original and announced that these are China's new technology developments. This could have a confusion and negative effect on society. To summarize, even though sharing information widely presents some benefits, it poses some drawbacks. Thus, I have a firm conviction that publishing data to the public is considered a two-sided coin which both government and public organizations should be aware of.