Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is often observed that some college freshers do not find the course they have opted for, appropriate for them. This might be due to the lack of knowledge about the course they have opted for. This can be solved by giving detailed information about courses in advance to the students. I will elaborate on my points below. Some people are not able to find the right path for their career before going to college, so they choose a course they think suits them best. But later they find out that the course is not appropriate for them and they have interest in some other course. Sometimes it may also happen that a student is confident about a particular course and enrols for it but after some time he finds out that the course is not meeting his expectations and he would like to opt for some other course. These problems are very common nowadays as people have become more focused on their careers. To tackle this, I propose that students should be given a very detailed description of each course, the course work they can expect, the outcomes of the course and the number of hours they have to put in. This information will help the students in making an informed decision. Even after giving this information if some student still wants to change the course, then a provision should be made such that they can switch to their desired course after passing the first year. In conclusion, I would say that having a lack of knowledge about one's interest or expectations not being met can lead a student to want to change course. This can be solved by providing detailed information about each course offered and a chance to change the course after the first year.