The issue of gay marriage remains controversial. Some people think that this trend has adverse effects on the society while others believe that it is seen as a natural trend and right for people to choose this type of marriage. Should gay marriage be legal? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many argue today that the same sex- marriage has a negative result on our society. Others opine that it is now acceptable in the modern world and it is the right of every individual to decide whom to marry. I would say that gay marriage should be allowed and protected by the law. In present times, it is said that true love wins. The love between same-sex partners is also real love. Gay couples have been acknowledged and accepted by many and have long been fought that it is their right to be whomever they want to be, as everyone has his own right to live the life he chooses. For instance, my sister is gay, but she still has the same right to live her life and choose whom she wants to be with, as mine. Gay marriage is just the same as any other marriage and should also be made legal. Moreover, a lot of gay couples have been fighting for their rights to be legally joined so they can also enjoy the benefits married couples enjoy. There are plenty of things legally married couples avail that is not available to couples that are just considered partners. For example, a married couple can enrol their dependents as beneficiaries in health or life insurance. However, these options are not accessible for gay couples as they are not legally married. Thus, making gay marriage legal will help them deal with these problems. In conclusion, gay marriage should be made legal because gay couples have the same rights as everyone else and should be treated like everyone else.