Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child's education?

There are two different approaches to upbringing children in modern life. The first group of people believe that excessive intervention in school life can lead to negative outcomes. Meanwhile, others argue that parents should strictly control children's marks and attain good ones no matter it costs. In my opinion, parents can be obsessed with children ’s performance at school because they firmly believe that excellent marks help them to build happy and secure lives. However, they should just support their offspring and teach them to adapt to new circumstances. To begin with, from parents ' perspective, being a good student is a safe way to achieve a successful and prosperous life. By having great academic performance, young people can expect better work opportunities and better lives in general. Parents strongly believe that the career ladder is quite obvious. First of all, you show high performance at school, then you enter a prestigious university and eventually receive a well-paid job. Nonetheless, in fact, the way is not impeccable and full of unpredictable obstacles. Thus, I think that parents should prepare children for a real adult life. They have to teach new generations to adapt to a rapidly changing world and make decisions depending on circumstances. In this case, parents should focus on the development of these skills rather than marks. As a result, whether children show high performance at school or not they always will be able to find a decent job and live in abundance. In conclusion, it goes without saying that all parents desire better lives for their offspring but pushing children to obtain high marks does not necessarily achieve that. I tend to believe that parents should explain to children that school is a platform for preparation for a real life. It means that at school, children can use different approaches and adapt in order to understand how the world works, and parents should completely support this.