Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is believed by some that the effective method to alleviate air pollution is through car-free days, others argue that there are ways that are way more effective than that. In this essay, I will discuss both arguments and express my opinion in the conclusion. On the one hand, it might appear to supporters of the former argument that car-free roads can reduce the high levels of air pollution, particularly in towns and city centres. For example, during the lockdown there were not many motor vehicles on roads, especially in metropolitan cities, which led to a significant reduction in the burning of fossil fuels, resulting in comparatively less pollution than before the lockdown. Therefore, they are of the opinion that this would be the only method to bring air pollution to a net zero level. On the other hand, advocates of the latter argument are in view that there are other methods such as car-pooling, introducing electric vehicles, and opposing deforestation. Firstly, if governments encourage commuters to use car sharing, then it might significantly lower the levels of pollution. Secondly, electric vehicles such as electric cars, bikes, and buses are the modern methods of transport in developed countries, the main purpose of this contemporary approach is to lower emission levels. Finally, most developing and developed nations have been planting trees instead of cutting them down for the last 5 years. As soon as started this they could find a tremendous increase in the levels of oxygen. In conclusion, although car-free days are one of the methods to reduce carbon emission levels, in my opinion, there other three effective methods which were explained in the latter paragraph can be far more effective