Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, governments pay partly or all education fees. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a controversy that in some countries, the governments pay part or all education fees. I think this situation is advantageous to the government to increase the national educational level, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, decreasing the number of unlettered people in the countries. It was expected that education was private and it was only for nobles in the past because it didn't only include the general tuition fees but it also involved a strict hierarchy. Therefore, the illiteracy rate was incredibly high in the past. However, this situation has changed in today's modern society. Education is no longer exclusively for nobles, the general public has the right to gain knowledge as well. Take China as an example. According to Chinese policy that elementary and middle schools in China are completely free. As a result, the national illiteracy rate has dropped dramatically, and such a chance can lead the country to become more civilized. Second, it's good for society's harmony. As we know, whenever there is domestic chaos within the country, people who are underaged are affected substantially. For example, there are frequent wars in Africa; hence, the number of child labour is considerably high not only because schools are too expensive for these kids but also because this chaotic atmosphere forces kids to work to support their families. In this case, if the government could financially support those kids to finish school, then we can lead to a harmonious society. On the other hand, free education has demerits as well. For example, it extends the gap between different social classes. It's commonplace that private schools are invariably more expensive than public schools; these private schools have better teachers and course content will be more complicated than public schools. Thus, when different classes receive different education, such a situation can worsen the friction between different classes. In conclusion, I believe the merits of free education outstrip its demerits.