Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems- To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, Global mobilisation opens numerous opportunities overseas. Looking for a better facility like education, healthcare, retirement, etc. will encourage a person to move some another nation. In doing so, an individual should be able to learn their local language, however, some people believe that a foreign language can cause serious social and practical problems. I do what extent go for it, while cannot shut my eyes on its positive side. On the one hand, some individuals believe that forgetting their mother tongue and learning another accent can hamper their social as well as practical life. This statement only applies to those individuals who are not able to get exposure to such a language or do not want to learn another country’s mother tongue. By taking the example of adults migrating from India to Ireland, where the Indian community is not as dominating as in Canada, youngsters might feel depressed when they were not able to communicate in their own language. Therefore, in such a situation, these youngsters faced such problems. On the other hand, living in a foreign country and speaking their local language will allow you to get socialize more with a local community and helps to get an employment opportunity. Speaking in their language gives an extra advantage when it comes to settling down in that society. For instance, the Indian students migrating to the UK appeared for English tests like IELTS, which will allow them to communicate with that country’s local students and teachers. Without doing so, they might not be able to learn and get involved in any socializing activities. Furthermore, in order to get settled, everyone needs to have the ability to read, write and speak the language so that they can secure a good job. For example, if the CEO of Alphabet, migrated from India, and were not able to speak English then he would not be able to achieve such a successful position. Hence, the understanding of the local language of that country could not create any social or practical problems, instead, it gives an edge over others if you are capable enough. In conclusion, communicating in that country’s mother tongue gives a lot of opportunities to get involved with the community and to get a job. In my opinion, such problems will not arise with communicating in a foreign language.