Some people say advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Advertisements play a major role in the sales of a product. Although it is often debated that the frequency of endorsement makes people lose interest in them after a point of time, I am of the opinion that well-designed advertisements do play a role in how people shop. The following essay will discuss both these views and support my point of view. To begin with, publicity has become so common that they do not interest anyone. For example, any movie or program on the TV has innumerable commercials playing at intervals. Moreover, a 45 -minute program will have a 30- minute commercial resulting in people avoiding watching these parts. Also, these are played so frequently that people tend to lose interest in them. Hence, repeated exposure to the same information becomes boring leading to disinterest among the viewers. On the other hand, well thought and appropriately written displays do interest people. They form a cover page for the product being displayed. For instance, online retail companies come up with such well-designed advertisements during festivals that people are compelled to buy them at any cost. Similarly, announcements build up suspense around a new product being launched into the market. Particularly, they highlight the best features of the product in the advertisements. This further persuades one to buy things. Thus, people knowingly or unknowingly fall into the trap of advertisements and shopping. In conclusion, though some people believe that advertisements do not affect them while buying things, well-prepared commercials do persuade them to spend on products.