Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that ex-prisoners can become normal, productive members of society. I agree that allowing such people to speak to teenagers about their experiences is the best way to discourage them from breaking the law. Firstly, teenagers are more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak from experience. Reformed offenders can tell young people about how they became involved in crime, what dangers are involved in a criminal lifestyle and what life in prison is really like. The vivid and perhaps shocking nature of these stories is likely to have a powerful impact on young people. Granted, one might argue that adolescents, who are still very impressionable, might idolize ex-criminals and try to imitate their crimes. However, after hearing about how much suffering they and their loved ones experienced when they were serving a prison term, as seen in cases where convicts are not allowed to visit their dying family members, I doubt that anyone would choose to go down the criminal path. Secondly, the alternatives to using reformed criminals to educate teenagers about crime would be much less effective. One option would be for police officers to visit schools and talk to young people. This could be useful in terms of informing teens about what happens to lawbreakers when they are caught, but young people are often reluctant to take advice from figures of authority. A second option would be for school teachers to speak to their students about crime, but I doubt that students would see teachers as credible sources of information about this topic. Finally, although educational films might be informative, there would be no opportunity for young people to interact and ask questions. In conclusion, those who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence are the best people to talk to teenagers about why they should not commit crime.