Some people believe it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some agree that scientific investigation, business and academic data sharing are beneficial, others believe that some informations are too relevant to be made public freely. This essay will argue why information sharing is necessary. Firstly, in order to advance the scientific, business and intellectual world, information sharing is necessary. These sectors thrive majorly by passing knowledge from one person to another. This knowledge passed is further reviewed, investigated and improved on so as to make ground-breaking discoveries in respective worlds. Most researchers share data of their investigations in order to subject it to peer reviews which will confirm the integrity of the analysis and also validate the study. For instance, the information of the first COVID-19 vaccine was released by Pfizer, which was used by many pharmaceutical companies to produce more potent vaccines that were used to combat the virus during the global pandemic. Thus, for the society to keep benefitting from scientific research, business and academic sectors, information sharing is important. However, these sectors are reward-oriented and very competitive. Some tend to keep relevant information from others in order to reduce competition. For example, most scientists want to be the pioneer of a major discovery or publish research that will solve a lingering problem in science. Therefore, they hide the study data from others. This is due to the fact that our system only recognises the first and others that work on similar projects subsequently, are not recognized. In conclusion, it is agreed that advancement in science, academics and business is largely due to knowledge sharing while competition and gain are the reasons some fail to share important information.In my opinion, I believe scientific research, business and academic data should be made available freely to others.