Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism of their teachers. Others think it will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether students should be allowed to criticize and give recommendations to their teachers has been a hotly debated topic. While some people argue that this means a loss of respect and order in a classroom, I support the view that this development could lead to a better educational experience. On the one hand, two-way feedback between teachers and learners could possibly result in a lack of regard and discipline. First and foremost, most students lack emotional maturity and thorough understanding of the world’s workings to give constructive comments. In case a student is impulsive and immature, he could sabotage the teacher’s reputation by giving unjust criticisms should he be hostile towards the teacher for giving him bad marks or reprimanding him. Moreover, as each student holds different opinions, it would be difficult for the teacher to come to a unified conclusion as to what he should improve on. This could lead to confusion and strenuity for educators who are trying to establish themselves as better teachers. On the other hand, I agree that empowering students with the ability to assess their educators could lead to the betterment of education. To start with, the core of education is to serve students and equip them with more knowledge, thus, understanding their insight and needs are critical to being a successful educator. Through learners’ responses, teachers could refine their methods and make adjustments to their lesson plans to better suit their students, resulting in more educated and motivated learners. Furthermore, this development could help teachers to hone their pedagogical skills. As teachers are forced to alter their teaching methods, they will encounter more innovative approaches, and become more flexible in dealing with special cases in the classroom. To conclude, while it is a fact that disrespect and a loss of order could ensue from equipping learners with the power to judge their teachers, the notion’s advantages such as gaining better understanding and innovation have overshadowed the disadvantages.