Some people believe that technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some claim that technological advancements trigger more issues than they actually resolve. In my opinion, while some people have been laid inactive due to technology, it has made our lives become much easier. Ones who provoke the negative view of technology often point to the prevalence of the sedentary lifestyle in the modern day. Due to the prevalence of computer-based and digital entertainment, staying at home and passively watching screens has become more popular than engaging in outdoor activities. This can be apparently seen in a recent survey of Vietnamese students when asked what they do in their pastimes, most of them would choose to play games. A number of them neglected fitness activities and mentioned that their communication was poorly affected as a result. Moreover, there can be potential health problems linked to this including obesity and short-sightedness. Albeit the presented, I have to consider the convenience to people's lives since the boom of technology. Over the last 50 years, technological advances have grown at an ever-increasing rate with numerous innovations to benefit humanity. Looking only at one area of manufacturing, manual production in the past has been replaced with robot engineers which can perform with more accuracy and speed, and in dangerous situations. This has resulted in a short turnaround time and enabled humans to do other tasks. Therefore, production can be a lot more cost-efficient, leading to cheaper prices so that the products can reach a wider range of consumers. In conclusion, technology offers more benefits than downsides because of the ease in our daily lives. People who blame technology for their sedentary lifestyles can be criticised for their poor time management and irresponsibility.