In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is a widely spread saying that youngsters should be hard-working in order to achieve goals. This can encourage children to study and learn more, however, there is a risk of kids having low self-esteem, which might be a downside. On the one hand, claiming that endless efforts help to achieve aims may increase responsibility among the younger generation. They can realise, for instance, the importance of a particular task and eventually will divide an adequate amount of time and energy for the fulfilment of the duty. Moreover, children could do more research and preparation, by being aware of the seriousness of the work. Conclusively, it would improve the quality of their knowledge and the education of the whole nation. On the other hand, the statement might lack the confidence of youngsters. For example, after being told that the effort is not sufficient enough, kids are more likely to compare themselves with their peers and lose the courage to try their best in specific spheres, such as sports, education and other competitions, despite their proficiency in those areas. Furthermore, students might carry a burden of feeling to be not enough good to be a winner, feeling guilt and not deserving what they achieved Unfortunately, the vast amount of kids with low self-assurance are the victims of those cultural beliefs. In conclusion, telling children to try better helps them to be more accurate when it comes to achieving goals and aims, despite this, it might affect them mentally negative, by lowering their confidence.