Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past. Some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to be. Others say that people only continue their education because the opportunities exist for them to do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Compared to the past generation, young people are better qualified. While some people say this is because nowadays applying for jobs is more competitive, others believe that young people ’s higher education levels are due to accessibility of more academic opportunities for them. Undoubtedly, there has been a considerable change in the work industry over the past few decades. One of these changes is that jobs have become more technical and specialized. It means that competitions for getting the offers are greater than it used to be. This is followed by stricter requirements for getting the job and a lot of hard work for keeping it, and they can’t do any of those if they are not qualified enough. Therefore, every young person who wishes to be employed, needs to overcome his/her competitors. To do so, he/she needs to gain more skills and experience in his/her field. That’s why there are better qualified young people compared to the past. On the other hand, it is clear that the educational system has experienced significant development; making it easier for everyone to access free education or academic positions. With good education being available, many young people will feel the need to pursue it in order to get better positions later in life. This helps them learn lots of things along the way and make good use of their youth. As a result, many of these well-educated youngsters turn out to be qualified and prepared to start a job more than young people used to be years ago. For example, nowadays people can work as an intern in factories and learn the job while studying technical subjects at university and the combination of these two can help them become more qualified over time. In conclusion, both views of this debate have their merits. On balance, however, I think the variety of available opportunities for continuing education has a greater impact on young people ’s considerable qualifications.