Enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and creativity than spending time on reading books. To what extent do you agree? explain with reasons and examples.

Academic excellence is and has always been the monument for one's success for people in several countries and cultures around the world. Because of this belief, parents are forcing their children to study for long hours and spend hours reading rather than doing other activities. While studying can have benefits on children's lives, having time to enjoy other activities is also essential to their development as well and I will elaborate on this topic in the following paragraphs. To begin with, Reading, despite being associated with one's level of intellectual capacity, is merely an activity people do in their free time. Children can have many interests and find themselves enjoying other activities more. Second, Other skills like cooking, playing sports, and musical instrumentals can have enormous benefits on children's development as well. Not only it can be a legitimate career path, but it also can help develop mental capability, building up the ability to concentrate on tasks and create a sense of achievement which can benefit kids later on in their lives and careers. Moreover, Forcing kids to spend their free hours on something they find uninteresting might make them feel it is a burden rather than a hobby and as a result, find reading even more uneventful and even make them get bored at school. Furthermore, the stress children received from being forced to read and study can result in them developing mental conditions which are not supposed to happen with kids at this age. The most notorious example is the competitive educational environment in Asian countries like Japan or South Korea which forced a lot of youngsters to spend their free time reading and consequently led them to develop severe mental conditions. In conclusion, studying and reading despite being useful activities should be something children choose to do rather than being forced as there are other several activities that can help kids develop both mental and physical capabilities as well as foster children's creativity.