People nowadays prefer to communicate via internet and social media. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although some opponents hold the view that network connections, Facebook and WhatsApp applications have a myriad of demerits, other advocates have a diverse view that these tools have revolutionized communication in business and social intelligence approaches as they make users' lives easier. Thus, my contention will be demonstrated below in the following lines. On the one hand, internet surfers adopt the stance that the internet has posed a threat to celebrities because their personal data and photos may be leaked by hackers on social media. In other words, the more actors, singers and footballers share posts and stories on their profiles, the more followers will repost and pervade social media updates; subsequently, these will lead to exposure of their data privacy. For instance, most megastars have official accounts on the Instagram platform to communicate their events with their fans; however, various actors and singers have complained about various hacking attacks after sharing these posts. Therefore, this means that the internet does not only ameliorate the communication channel between entertainers and viewers, but it also exposes glamorous icons to diverse cybercrimes. On the other hand, other proponents are of the belief that networking has facilitated the business world by possessing virtual conference software and emails, which have a remarkable influence on the cost and environment. To illustrate, transactions have been changed from face-to-face to digital ones; online platforms substitute flights and commutes of workers. Subsequently, traffic jams and resource consumption of corporations have been reduced significantly. An eminent example is some multinational companies, that have changed their policies to working from home during the Covid pandemic period owing to cost savings and employees’ safety purposes. Additionally, mobile applications such as Viber have been used by most families to get in touch with their relatives who travel abroad to support them psychologically. Hence, what can be said is that the internet has become an indispensable tool that most people rely on. In conclusion, after presenting the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that the positives of using the internet have surpassed its drawbacks due to some consequences on personal and professional endeavours. Nevertheless, some mitigations should be in-place like installation of the anti-virus software to tackle cyberattacks and leaks of personal details.