Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, people prefer online communication instead of face-to-face conversation. However, in my understanding, this trend is a negative development as it is an indication of increasing isolation in society. To commence with, in-person interaction helps in developing communication skills. Face-to-face contact improves formal conversation whereas virtual chatting involves informal speech and the use of slang. Additionally, direct socializing seems to be beneficial for interviews and public speaking talks. Also, it trains folk for a better presentation of ideas. In addition, it induces a sense of professionalism. For instance, the admission process at Harvard University comprises of in-person communication round which is quite difficult to crack for many students. Hence, promoting face-to-face interaction is immensely essential for personal as well as professional growth. Another point to be noted is that being more engaged in social activity detaches a person from the real world. Connecting with the public directly provides a secure and trustworthy environment. Furthermore, it helps an individual to share their issues fearlessly and consequently decreases the risk of mental instability. Moreover, such efforts boost our confidence as well as reduce the chances to be hopeless and sorrowful. For example, according to records, the major reason for depression is loneliness due to the inability to interact directly. Thus, interacting with the population personally endorses effective mental health. To conclude, the fashion of conversing virtually is non-progressive as it leads to various other difficulties. Although it is productive to seek the service of technology to communicate with long-distance relatives, it is recommended to speak face-to-face to enhance our socializing skills.