A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

In recent years, more students tend to choose other majors rather than science subjects. This phenomenon is due to some reasons, and it would affect our society and economy. The major reason why fewer students are willing to select science subjects is because professional expertise needs too much time to specialize. In this case, it would reduce students ’ leisure time to participate in other activities, such as clubs, and parties. For instance, Asian students who major in the school of medicine have no other choice but to spend plenty of time on different subjects; especially around the midterm, they used to sacrifice sleeping and recreation time for study. Consequently, it would decline the willingness to major in those demanding subjects. However, it may lead to several effects on the society. To begin with, if students do not decide to major in science subjects, those fields will face a workforce shortage in the future. From a long-term perspective, it is hard for nations to keep increasing and improving science development. Take a clear example, the lack of skilled workers, it is hard for manufacturers to enhance a high-tech smartphone with numerous functions. Moreover, the fewer students who study science, the fewer related job vacancies would be hired. Hence, many graduates in these fields may face unemployment and cause society’s burden. In conclusion, the shortage of students choosing science subjects is caused by several factors like the study time as well as the burden, and this problem might slow down the development of technology and even unemployment.