Some people say that the only reason for people learning a forign language Is In order to travel to work in a foreign country. Other say that these aer not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that learning a language overseas has an indispensable role to play in many realms of contemporary society. Some people harbour a belief that the purposes of learning a foreign language are for working or travelling, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is a very controversial issue which deserves an in-depth discussion, and a conclusion will be drawn. Initially, one of the main arguments in its favour is that working or travelling abroad is the only goal for people learning different languages. There is a growing tendency that the public nowadays either pursue their dream, such as playing baseball abroad, or migrate, which is known as Wang Chien Ming. One of the reasons why he can play baseball in MLB is his outstanding skills obviously. Furthermore, with fluent English, he got the chance to pursue his dream in America. Because of speaking English fluently, he can communicate with his coaches and teammates smoothly. In addition, he can adapt to the American environment quickly without language problems. This indicates that learning a second language is not the only reason for working or travelling. On the other one of the spectrum, such a vital role learning other languages play in working or travelling abroad. Considering the different cultures and environments, people usually feel inadaptable initially. Besides the aforementioned, learning another language possibly helps those visitors or workers from different nations realise the culture and get into the local lifestyle easily. According to the latest official statistics conducted by the Ministry of the Interior in Taiwan, the proportion of people learning a foreign language for working and travelling is higher than for other purposes. Based on such compelling evidence, it appears that the only purpose of learning different languages is for working with most Taiwanese public. to sum up, despite the fact that most Taiwanese habitants think that working is the sole goal to learn other languages. however, there are some different reasons that should be focused on.