Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments.

Nowadays all countries try to provide and advertise lots of attractions and comfort to attract more tourists because of making progress in their income from the tourism industry. It is obvious that mass tourism has cynical consequences. Unfortunately, its negative impacts are ignored for decades. In this essay, I briefly discuss how tourists have bad effects on the countries' cultures and environments, and what should be done to decrease those influences. As a matter of fact, a place that has become a popular tourist destination sometimes benefits, since more jobs are created for local people. However, there are also disadvantages. First of all, there are environmental problems, since more tourists bring more pollution. Secondly, small independent businesses struggle to compete against big companies and hotel chains that move into the area. Finally, partly as a result of the second point above, a place that becomes popular with visitors is at risk of losing its unique cultural identity. These days the most important question is how could be possible to decline the disadvantages of the tourist industry. To answer this issue, it is noticeable that tourists should avoid spreading their own customs and try to respect the traditional lifestyles of the country where they are visiting. Especially, backpackers who have more communication with local inhabitants. Furthermore, it is respectful that they would be more eager to preserve the environment and animals' habitats. For example, on the safari, they must not make a fire or hunt animals. In conclusion, it would be fair to say that the tourism industry can be beneficial if sightseers try to protect nature and respect other cultures.