Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio. How does media affect the society? Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

In contemporary years, media has had a huge impact on human life and also has been changing the way people live. While it is true that it has brought several downsides, in my view its upsides outweigh its drawbacks. As TVs or radio channels have been becoming a reputable source of information, more and more people are influenced by their programs and shows in many ways. Firstly, numerous youngsters find their role among celebrities who perform in movies or series. They are encouraged to follow their dreams, work hard, achieve special skills and be consistent to reach their goals. Secondly, it is easy to be updated on the latest news via various channels at no cost. That is the reason adults who are involved in business use media frequently to align their targets with the current situation. For example, according to the research which was conveyed by BIM, 90% of entrepreneurs watch the BBC NEWS channel every day. Finally, spending a long time in an indoor place without having an LCD or smartphone could be a disaster. In other words, media is playing a central role in human amusement as they produce popular content for different levels of society and different ages. For example, an American TV show named “Friends” has been published in 150 countries and has a massive fan club with 10 million followers. Although publishing stuff benefits the community, misusing media will produce ill effects and lead to an unhealthy lifestyle. It is common knowledge that following particular TV series can be addictive and wasting considerable time is a common issue. This trend can cause the quality of studying and working or even decrease the ability to focus on special activities. Moreover, it is universally accepted that there are a few hazards involved with being in an unsocial society. Consuming considerable time for watching videos or listening to music leads to less communication with others. To tackle these problems, some steps should be taken such as setting a time limitation for using media or promoting collective activities which increase social infarctions. In conclusion, media has been an essential part of modern society due to the fact that it made our life easier and more interesting than before or even gives our life a sense of purpose. However, providing appropriate rules and instructions for preventing destructive use of media is crucial to as not to face dire consequences.