It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is significant for children to draw a distinction between right and wrong when they are very young. To help them find out this difference, disciplinary measures are required. I disagree with the necessity of punishment for children because we should try to demonstrate the result of their right and wrong choices and their effects on their lives by stimulating their cognitive capacity. However, in some cases, punishment might be required. In these situations, parents and teachers must avoid physical punishment and inquire about other ways of punishment. Punishment as a necessity might have a negative effect on children's behaviour. Children should be taught to make informed choices instead of being punished. When they make their own decision, they learn to take the responsibility for their right or wrong choices and experience their impressions on their whole life, while by punishment the fear of doing such activities might lead them not to be willing to gain more experiences in the life’s path and causes them to be isolated from the society or do things which are not suitable. For example, when children are playing games on a smartphone in their beds after midnight, it is better to talk to them about the harmful effects of playing such games at the dark for their eyes’ health instead of punishment. However, punishment might be required and could fit in some cases. Since cognitive capacity for different age groups is different, children might do something which is right in their view, while it is wrong for that situation. In such cases, the punishment could be useful, but the way children are being punished is very important. Parents and teachers should avoid imposing physical punishment because it negatively affects both the mental and physical well-being of children. Instead, making some restrictions and depriving them of certain privileges for a short period could be more useful to help children to distinguish between good and bad things. For example, parents could punish children by creating some limitations to access their smartphones. To conclude, I would argue that it is not necessary to punish children to differentiate between right and wrong, but in some cases, a punishment which does not negatively affect their health might be helpful.