The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come of this trend?

The concept of working offshore from home has gained momentum in some countries. It is believed to be the future of the modern workforce. While it has positive outcomes there are issues concerning the well-being of employees as well. Firstly, the method saves time to waste in a variety of ways. For instance, people confirm that they save around 3 to 4 hours of valuable time spent on the roads which can help them to be productive at their work. Secondly, this increases the parent's flexibility to attend to their children's wants and needs which is an important part of healthy family life. In addition to this, companies benefit from this by reducing operational costs such as electricity and rent which can be utilized for other avenues. On the contrary, disproportionate work-life balance is a dilemma for this way of working. To begin with, this style of work isolates an employee from the physical environment of an office which reduces camaraderie among colleagues. Moreover, this increases the chance of having conflicts among team members since they intend to resolve matters virtually rather than having a one-to-one conversation which can be effective. Finally, it is proven that prioritizing work from personal space from this way of working has been an issue for many which has led to detrimental effects. In conclusion, although there are many positive outcomes in terms of time and cost savings from working from home, the impact it creates for a healthy culture of an organization can be devastating hence it is advisable to have a hybrid of both.